It’s Going Swimmingly: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

Good morning! I just want to pause for a moment and thank everyone who has taken the time to like my Facebook page and stopped by to check out the reviews. Happy reading!

Of Poseidon

Title:                     Of Poseidon

Author:                 Anna Banks

Genre:                 YA, Paranormal (mer-peeps), romance

Pages:                     384

Publication Date:    April 30, 2013

Publisher:                  Square Fish; Reprint edition

Recipe Variables:    N/A

Series:                             Syrena Legacy: Of Poseidon, Of Triton

Book Blurb:

 Galen, a Syrena prince, searches land for a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. It’s while Emma is on vacation at the beach that she meets Galen. Although their connection is immediate and powerful, Galen’s not fully convinced that Emma’s the one he’s been looking for. That is, until a deadly encounter with a shark proves that Emma and her Gift may be the only thing that can save his kingdom. He needs her help–no matter what the risk.

Review:  

On my way to purchase a treat at the bookstore, I couldn’t help but notice this novel’s stunning aesthetics with its haunting underwater theme and nearly glow-in-the-dark coloring; even the font is spot-on playful. It fish-slapped me up-side the head since its publication on every “Look What’s New!” lists everywhere I turned. Personally, I haven’t read or come across a lot of mermaid YA lit, so I found that angle fresh and inviting, much like chocolate consumption; the immediate release of endorphins that make my toes curl in my socks. That’s pretty much how I felt after reading the first chapter of Of Poseidon by Ms. Anna Banks. Forgive me, but I nearly squealed with delight when the main character, Emma, smacked right into the rock-hard abs of our hunky hero on page…one. Yes, I know, it oozes with gooey syrup, but there was just something about Galen that I couldn’t take my mind’s eyes off of…kinda like that double caramel chocolate truffle I bought at the bookstore and then ate without chewing.

I must say that the shifting points of view, although choppy at times, kept things interesting throughout the book. Emma, our spirited, toe-headed heroine is stubborn, strong-willed, and snarky in just the right amount in her believable first-person narrative, while Galen’s chapters tended to stumble on a third-person shift that left some of the details vague. The playful banter between the star(fish)-crossed lovers was fun, realistic, and plentiful.

The other thoroughly surprising element of this read was the fact that Emma’s BFF is African-American. Hello! What a refreshing change. Unfortunately, the poor girl is devoured by a shark before the first chapter is over. And that, my friends, is pretty much where the sugar rush ends. Galen spirals into the ever controlling, ever drool-worthy hottie all the school girls want, the relationship between the lead characters has predictable ups and downs, and the ending left me hanging for a year waiting for the sequel. Good thing I waited for the paperback edition and just finished reading it last week. The sequel—Of Triton—is ready for purchase if I feel the need for seconds, but that is the problem I find with eating copious amounts of chocolate; over-eating gives me a tummy ache and the endorphin rush wears off. With the Syrena Legacy series, I think I’ll quit while I still have a good taste in my mouth.

3.5 Squares

3 and half squares review copy

Leave a Reply

